Project 1: Flier

Marisol-Ortega-InDesign-Flier

Description: This is a black & white flier for a Graduate Leadership Conference.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): I began this project by sketching out possible designs for the flier. I chose one of the sketches and designed the layout using Adobe InDesign. I decided to use curvy edges in the design repeatedly to create unity in the design. I added contrast in the title by making one of the words larger and a different font than the others. I made the question, ” Do you want to have the competitive edge in business?” larger and black so that it would stand out from the body. I left plenty of white space at the top and bottom of the flier. This allows for the event name and date to be the focal point of the flier. I was provided the logo, image, and text of this flier.

Message: I am reaching out to students who will be graduating soon or who are recent graduates to inform them about the opportunity they have to attend this conference that can help them become leaders in the workforce.

Audience: The audience I created this flier for are recent or soon to be graduates in between the ages 21-30.

Top Thing Learned: I learned how to use the pen tool, which helped me design the curvy elements in the flier.

Title Font Name & Category:

Lucida Fax – Slab Serif

Copy Font Name & Category:

ITC Veljovic – Oldstyle

Links to images used in this project:

  1. https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/VouantLogo2.png
  2. https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/JuliePeterson-Leadership-conference-business-rexburg-Idaho_7650-as-Smart-Object-11.jpg

2 thoughts on “Project 1: Flier

  1. Nice job! It seems this flyer is really geared to a specific target audience. You will help close the gender gap. I like the alignment, flow, and motion. The header and footer also give this feeling like one is peaking into the conference. Well Done.

  2. I love your Flyer! It is evident that you spent a lot of time building out this idea. I liked your use of repetition and hierarchy. It gives your piece great flow! Your blog is well organized too. that’s awesome! Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment