Project 4: Montage

MarisolOrtega-P4Montage-Heaven

  1. Description: This is an inspirational montage using a quote from C.S. Lewis. This design was done by blending five images and typography.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, Steps taken while designing): I first began by cropping the background image so that it fit 8.5 x 11 in. I then found a few silhouettes that when with the quote and used the Lasso tool and 20% Feather and moved them onto my image. I used a mask on all of those images and used the brush tool with a 40% opacity to blend them into the image. I left some with hard edges because I believed they added to the design. The buildings were blended in more than the others. For the silhouette of the father and son, I used the Overley blend to have it match with the background image. I used Divide for the word Heaven. I used Adobe Photoshop for this design.
  3. Message: I wanted to design a spiritual poster that reminds us all that Heaven is our home. I believe C.S Lewis explains this very spiritually.
  4. Audience: Those who have a religious background or are interested in spiritual things/ideas.
  5. Top Thing Learned: I learned how to blend images, use the Lasso tool, the brush tool, and how to use masks to avoid destroying a photo.
  6. Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied:  I added a bit of vibrancy to the background image.
  7. Color scheme and color names: Monochromatic: Blue
  8. Title Font Name & Category: Lucida Bright Demibold Italic- Oldstyle
  9. Copy Font Name & Category: None
  10. Thumbnails of Images used:
  11.  stars-in-the-sky-digital-art-hd-wallpaper-1920x1080-2122 2048buildings8-Free-Clipart-Of-7-Tree-Silhouettesoff-road-cars-silhouettes
  12. Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site): HDW:http://hdw.eweb4.com/wallpapers/2122/ Blessed Family Chiro: http://www.blessedfamilychiro.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/2048.jpg Clipart Of: http://free.clipartof.com/details/8-Free-Clipart-Of-7-Tree-Silhouettes Juimg: http://www.juimg.com/shiliang/201401/chengshifengguang_471934.html  Free Logo Vectors: http://www.freelogovectors.net/?s=cars

One thought on “Project 4: Montage

  1. Marisol,
    I really like the silhouette type theme with this. The back ground to this fits perfectly with the silhouettes. You have great white space and you follow the rule of thirds extremely well. Great choice with the quote. It ties the picture together really well. Great job on this and keep up the great work!

    Check out my blog and tell me what you think:

    Project 4: Montage

Leave a comment